Gluten Free Mallorca

I recently spent a few incredible days in Mallorca.  As well as snoozing by the pool and drinking copious cocktails, I also indulged in some delicious gluten free-food.  I couldn’t possibly cram in the details of my whole holiday, so here is a summary of my gluten-free Mallorca best bits!

Hotel:

I stayed in the Hotel Maritim Galatzo in Costa de la Calma.  It is a lovely hotel on top of a hill with gorgeous views over the sea.  Staff were friendly and attentive and we had a really relaxing time sunbathing by the pool and resting at the spa.  On our first morning we went to the breakfast buffet where I informed the maitre d’ of my dietary requirements.  She told me she would arrange for gluten-free bread to be brought to my table, so while I waited for this to arrive I checked out the buffet.  There were lots of options available for those following a gluten-free diet.  In the cold section there were plenty of different fruits, yogurts, meats and cheese, under the hot plates were bacon, eggs, tomatoes, and there was a chef cooking eggs and delicious omelettes.  I was eventually presented with a plate of gluten-free goodies!  A sealed warm baguette, muffins and cookies – dream!  Each morning for the rest of our stay the lady remembered that I was gluten-free and went straight to the kitchen to request my bread.  After a short wait, I was presented with the same plate of tasty treats.

One evening we had dinner at the hotel which was fantastic.  We went at the start of service, which I always find a good idea at buffets in order to limit the likelihood of cross-contamination.  All the dishes had a label in front of them which specified which allergens were present in the dish and each had its own serving spoon – a coeliac’s dream!  I first indulged in the salad bar and then enjoyed a few plates of hot food including chicken breast, pork chops, mash potato and peas with ham.  The food was really tasty and seemed very fresh.  The chef was even frying 4 different types of meat and fish at the food station and stir frying vegetables.

For dessert I had creme caramel which was delicious and made myself a little cheese board with my gluten-free baguette.

Overall, I had a fantastic experience of gluten-free dining at the Maritim Galatzo and will definitely be returning.

 

 

Supermarkets:

Casa Pepe

We visited the Casa Pepe store in Santa Ponsa where they had a large selection of gluten-free bread, cereals and snacks taking up a large end of an aisle.  Unfortunately, the bread was extremely heavy and felt very hard so I decided not to buy it.  The rosemary rice crackers were tasty though and the cookies were delicious.

IMG_8440

Mercadona

This is a much larger supermarket and there are over 30 stores on the island.  There wasn’t a dedicated gluten-free section in the Peguera store that we visited, but there were loads of gluten-free snacks and breads dotted around and I bought some brioche rolls here which were delicious.  They also had a huge freezer full of gluten-free products.

 

 

Restaurants

IMG_8394

 

Restaurante Casa Rustica

This small restaurant is tucked away near the main high street in Peguera and has a beautiful courtyard garden.  The waiting staff were very knowledgable on gluten-free food and the menu had lots of different choices.  I had a very tender steak with sauteed vegetables and a baked potato.

 

 

IMG_8475

Casa Luis

This is a small, friendly restaurant near to Cala Fornells.  One of my favoruite dishes in Mallorca is suckling pig and they do an excellent dish here, not too fatty and a generous sized portion.  This came served with vegetables and some fried potato that they made especially as I was unable to have the chips.

 

Can Pep

Set on the beautiful front of Port d’Andratx, I emailed this restaurant in advance to check they could cater for the gluten free diet and boy could they!  The staff were delighted at my arrival and treated my like a VIP!  I was immediately presented with two mini gluten-free baguettes and alioli which was divine.  The waiter was very knowledgable on what was suitable for my diet and went straight to the kitchen to double-check.  I had an incredible octopus and sweet potato starter, which was very well cooked and seasoned with paprika.  The showstopper, however, was the chateaubriand.  It is for two to share and came with mixed vegetables and chips.  You cook the steak yourself, which makes the meal all that more exciting.  The staff seemed genuinely proud of themselves to have given me such an incredible meal and I was so grateful.  This was by far the best meal and service I had experienced in a long time and just proves that even with a language barrier you can still have a safe and delicious meal wherever you go.

 

 

If you’ve enjoyed reading about my trip to Mallorca and it has inspired you to go on your own gluten-free travels, make sure you check out my previous post on Top tips for gluten-free travel bliss 

 

Difficult Diner

 

 

Leave a Reply

