Gluten Free Review: Handmade Burger Co.

Being a coeliac, one of the things I miss most is being able to go out for a meal and order a proper burger.  No matter what anyone says, having a beef patty in some lettuce is not going to cut it.

When I heard about Handmade Burger Co having a gluten free menu I was desperate to try it out.

I visited the Bath branch on a weekday evening.  Initial impressions were not great, the decor is very minimilistic and it feels very cold, almost like a warehouse canteen!

However, once I was given the gluten free menu I was so impressed I wouldn’t have cared what the place looked like!

The menu contains over 30 different burgers and six different types of chips.  With so much choice it took me a long time to decide, but I eventually went for BBQ pulled pork and rosemary salt chips.

When the food arrived I was surprised to see that the burger roll came wrapped up in plastic.  This is to reduce the risk of cross contamination.  Although I found it slightly odd at first, it was quite fun building my own burger and I felt really safe knowing that the bread hadn’t come into contact with anything else.

I found the roll had the usual chewy texture of a gluten free one, but was nice and light.   The beef itself was delicious, very juicy and flavoursome.  The rosemary salt skin-on chips were a winner.

My sister’s burger was slightly cold, the staff were extremely apologetic and made her a completely new one when she asked for hers to be re-heated.

Overall, I was very impressed with the meal I had at Handmade Burger Co.  The fantastic food and friendly staff more than made up for the basic decor and I will definitely be revisiting.

Score: 8/10

Leave a Reply

