Gluten Free Review: Flat Iron 

After seeing lots of photos of Flat Iron on social media, I decided to see what all the fuss was about on my recent visit to London.

I visited the Henrietta Street branch with a friend on a weekday at 6pm.  They don’t take reservations, so when we arrived we were told the wait was an hour and a half to two hours!  As we had been so looking forward to the meal, we decided to stick it out so gave our number and went for a walk around Covent Garden.

We returned to the restaurant for a drink at the bar while we waited and enjoyed watching the butcher at work in the glass-fronted butchery.  I had a delicious strawberry cocktail which made the wait more bearable and I took the opportunity to ask one of the staff members about my gluten free requirement.  She was very knowledgeable and immediately brought me a clipboard which clearly labelled the allergens of all menu options.  The steak and chips and all sauces, but one, were gluten free – perfect.  I checked that the fryer was dedicated to chips, which she confirmed.  Now feeling even more excited we were eventually taken to our table where we were given a vintage enamel mug full of popcorn – my favourite snack!

Our table was downstairs, the decor is back-to-basics wood and bare brick but the dim lighting made it feel very cosy.  The menu is very small – just one steak (with the famous £10 price tag) – and a handful of sides.  The special on offer that night was a burger, but I chose the classic flat iron steak, beef dripping chips, broccoli and bearnaise sauce.  The food arrived within minutes.  The steak is served on its own sizzling platter and instead of a steak knife you have a mini meat cleaver which made the experience all the more exciting!

So was it worth the hype and the long wait….?

YES, absolutely, delicious tender steak and crunchy beefy fries.  The side salad was also a nice touch adding a bit of freshness to the meal along with the broccoli.  The steak was cooked to perfection and I didn’t want it to end!  My only criticism would be that the pot of bearnaise was very small, however this might just be because I like a healthy dose of sauce all over my steak and chips!

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone.  Such a simple idea, executed brilliantly with fun touches and incredible flavour.  A great experience that can be enjoyed by all – even those on a budget.

Score 9/10

flat-iron-4falt-iron-1flat-iron-2

 

One thought on “Gluten Free Review: Flat Iron 

Leave a Reply

