Gluten Free Review: Le Bistrot Pierre

On a recent break to Cardiff I had the usual stress of having to pick a restaurant in a new area. After having a look online I chose Le Bistrot Pierre as I had heard that they were good for gluten free food.

On arrival at the restaurant we were greeted by a very friendly woman who showed us to our table. The restaurant was a prefect balance between being a smart bistro but also cosy and relaxed.

I asked for the gluten free menu and was given one without any questions asked. First impression….. WOW! A huge menu with lots of different choices to suit any taste.

I went for the calamari to start and had pork for my main.

The calamari was delicious, such a treat to have something fried! The rings were not as coated as ones with gluten would have been but from personal experience I know how hard it is to make something gluten free stick together. The squid was very well cooked and the garlic mayonnaise which accompanied it was fantastic.

My main course consisted of honey glazed pork and braised lentils with dijon mustard and a sprinkling of crushed crackling on top. This came with a side of vegetables which were delicious. The pork was really tender and the crackling added a great texture to the dish.

Overall I was extremely impressed with the food and service at this restaurant. It was a real luxury to feel as if I was eating a ‘normal’ meal and not missing out on anything. I was too full to try a pudding but will definitely return!

Score 9/10

IMG_5708IMG_5711IMG_5715

Leave a Reply

